Why I don’t miss my DVR, or:

Image

photo source

When we made the decision that the best thing for our family would be for my husband to quit his corporate job and start his own business while I continued working as a teacher full time, we knew that we would have to make some lifestyle changes to accommodate the change in income.  This is not the first time we have made things work on one(ish) income during our marriage.  Along with a few other things, we said goodbye to cable.  

Here is why I don’t miss it:

1.  We still watch TV.  Whether it be on Hulu, Netflix, or on a network in real time (yes, people still do that!)  I haven’t really felt deprived.  And my husband has McGyver’ed a way to still watch sports somehow from some website.  I don’t ask too many questions. 

2.  We watch TV with intention.  There was a bunch of shows that I used to watch just because they were programmed on our DVR.  And I used to think that they were really important (just ask my husband if he will ever cancel a recording of Grey’s Anatomy to watch a Laker Game again- he only made that mistake once).  But now that I am not up-to-date, and realize, I don’t really care if I am up to date!  I have broken the cycle of “Cliffhanger.AHHH!!!!.Cliffhanger.AHHH!What happens next!!!” and it feels good.  Because seriously, I was taking it too seriously.

3. I go to bed earlier.  The element of inconvenience has greatly cut down on the time we sit in the dark, mesmerized by television’s flashing glow.  There is no more “Just one more…”

4.  I have found other ways to “decompress.”  Instead of just zoning out in front of the television, maybe I’ll spend some time browsing blogs.  Or baking.  Or reading an actual book.  Maybe sometime I’ll actually feel inspired to work out.  The bottom line is, there are ways that I can de-stress from my day that are way more effective in reviving my spirit than television.  

5.  $Money$.  It may not be saving us a million dollars, between the income of a teacher and an eutxrepreuer, we don’t need to be paying for TV.

Reflecting back on my relationship with television, I see that it had an improper priority in my life.  Though cutting our cable was a financial decision, it also has ended up being an excellent life choice.

How are you are strategic about your “screen time”?  Do you have any Netflix recomendations?

 

 

Leave a Reply

