What Makes it Great

“It’s supposed to be hard.  If it was easy, everyone would do it.  The hard is what makes it great.”

-A League of their Own

Most of the things worth doing in life do not happen by accident.  Yet paradoxically, intentionality is not easy.

This will be a blog dedicated to thing things that I find worth pursing, despite the cost:

Missional Living.  My husband and I live in Compton.  A city notorious for crime, poverty, and violence.  But we have found this is a place where God is present in suffering, relationships are priceless, and Community has the power to transform lives.  It is hard.  But  I wouldn’t want to live anywhere else.

Raising a Bilingual and Bicultural Child.  We are expecting our first son in September.  I am white, my husband is Guatemalan (afro-mestizo if you want to get really specific).  I was born in Guatemala, lived there until I was 2 and a half, and spend 4 glorious months there in college.  It is important to both of us that our son understands the role that place had in forming both his parents.  Imparting the best of both cultures and bringing him up to speak both languages is not going to happen by accident.  Sometimes, speaking English takes much less work for me.  But I don’t want the comfort I find in my mother tongue to deter us; there are also parts of my heart that only Spanish can touch.

Urban Education.  I am a teacher working in an urban setting. My students are teenagers.  I love my job.  My job is hard.  Enough said.

Making a house a home.  We have lived in our house for 2 years, and are still working to make it “ours.”  My husband’s version of nesting involved knocking out a wall that has led to a DIY kitchen remodel.  This has caused me to put my money where my mouth is as far as values like simplicity, frugality, and the satisfaction of doing it yourself (let’s just say my vision of his and her power tools has not yet materialized…)  But I know when it’s all said and done I will not regret pursuing a considered home.  It just may take awhile.

So, that’s where I see this going.  I want to be honest about what is hard.  But more than anything, I want to document What Makes It Great.

2 thoughts on “What Makes it Great

Leave a Reply

